Important August MPRE Dates


MPRE dates

If you’re planning on becoming a licensed attorney, you will probably have to take the MPRE. It is required for admission to all states except Maryland, Wisconsin, and Puerto Rico. Students in Connecticut and New Jersey may successfully complete a professional responsibility course in lieu of the MPRE exam.

The next MPRE is coming up on August 13. There are two important deadlines you need to make note of if you’re planning on taking the August exam.

The cost to enroll at the first deadline, June 23, is $84. There is a second opportunity to sign up, but it will cost you double the cost of the first deadline. The fee for the June 30 deadline goes up to $168.

Per the NCBE website, “Online registrations must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. eastern time on the registration deadline. Telephone registrations must be completed by 4:45 p.m. eastern time on the registration deadline. Absolutely no registrations will be accepted after the late registration deadline. Please do not contact NCBE or LSAC to request exceptions to this policy.”

For more information about MPRE registration, please see the NCBE website at


MPRE Information (& FREE course)

MPRE INFOFor the majority of you, taking the MPRE is unavoidable. Unless you’re taking the Maryland or Wisconsin bar exam, the MPRE is required. You might be able to avoid it if you take a professional responsibility course in lieu of the exam in Connecticut or New Jersey. If you’re in any other jurisdiction, unfortunately, you’re going to have to take it.

The deadline for the March 19 exam is January 28, so you have a little over a week to decide if you’re going to take it this time. The fee is $84, but if you wait to sign up at the late deadline, which is February 4, the cost doubles to $168. More importantly, the test is only offered three times a year—March, August, and November, so it’s incredibly important to get it out of the way if you’re planning on taking the July bar exam.

Make sure you check your jurisdiction’s requirements to ensure that you’re taking the MPRE within the prescribed amount of time. If you take it too early, sometimes the score will lapse. If you take it too late, then you won’t be sworn in right away after you pass the bar exam. Some states won’t even let you take the bar exam until you’ve passed the MPRE.

The passing score required by each jurisdiction also varies, so make sure you check those while you’re looking at the requirements. Some states, like Alabama and Texas, require a score of 75 to be considered passing. Other states, like Minnesota and Oregon require a score of 85.

Here’s the skinny about the MPRE:

  • It’s a 60-question multiple-choice exam.
  • You have two hours to complete the test.
  • Only 50 questions are scored. Of course, you will not be able to discern the scored questions from the pretest questions.
  • Your score is based on the number of questions that you answer correctly. This means that you should answer every question.

We have an awesome FREE online MPRE course. If you want to sign up for it, go here. (

If you want to get a set of optional FREE books, please let us know. Email by February 1, 2016.

Next week, we’ll give you guys some great MPRE tips! Make sure you follow us so that you don’t miss them.